Guide To Tuesday's Primary Election

Candidates vie for state senate, assembly, county freeholders and town committee races.

Voters will pick candidates on Tuesday for the November elections, when they will select one Senator and two Assembly members, plus four members of the Board of Chosen Freeholders. Voters in Millburn wil also choose who will run for township committee in November.

District 27

Former Democratic Governor Richard Codey is running with Assemblymen John McKeon and Assemblywoman Mia Jasey in the newly configured 27th district that now stretches from Livingston and the West Essex suburbs into Morris County. Former Millburn Mayor Ellen Steinberg is trying to upset McKeon and Jasey  of South Orange on Tuesday.

Steinberg is a lawyer who lived in Chatham for 17 years before she moved to Short Hills. A few years before being elected to the Millburn Township Committee in 2005, she made an unsuccessful bid for the assembly.

Come November, Republicans Lee Holtzman, an attorney from Livingston, and Chatham Township Mayor Nicole Hagner will take on the Democratic winners of Tuesday’s primary.

In addition to Millburn-Short Hills, the recent redistricting includes towns from both Morris and Essex Counties including Caldwell, Chatham Township, East Hanover, Essex Fells, Florham Park, Hanover, Harding, Livingston, Madison, Maplewood, Roseland, South Orange and West Orange. The district has a 45,000-25,000 Democratic edge.

Codey doesn’t have opposition in the primary, but he’ll go against the winner of the Republican primary: Essex Fells Councilman William Sullivan vs. Tea Party candidate William Eames.

County Freeholders

There are four at-large seats in the Board of Chosen Freeholders race. Those running are: Essex County Democrats Patricia Sebold, Donald M. Payne, Jr., Blonnie R. Watson and Rufus I. Johnson all seek re-election for three-year terms.

They are challenged by The People’s Democrats: LaDean Mitchell, D. Kim Thompson-Gaddy, William Spear and La Toya M Wilson, as well as Charles N. Hall Jr., a Labor’s Choice candidate.

Freeholders At-Large candidates on the Republican side -- Millburn's Reuben Torres and Sue Ann Penna,  Adam Kraemer and Peter Campisi – are running unopposed.

Township Committee

Four township residents – including one incumbent – will move on to the general election. For this race, the primary won't make a difference. Democrats Stephen Thomas and Seth Levine are running against Republicans Robert Tillotson, who is seeking his second term, and  Sari Greenberg. Both Thomas and Greenberg are political newcomers while Levine ran unsuccessfully for township committee last year and Tillotson’s first term is coming to an end.

Levine and Thomas are running together on the Democratic ticket and Tillotson and Greenberg are running together on the Republican ticket. Of the two open seats – one is being vacated by Democrat James Suell, who opted not to seek a third term. The other seat has been Tillotson's.

To find out where to vote, click here.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »